HCCUA Visit Us On Twitter Visit Us On Facebook
Join HCCUA Today!

Home > Health And Wellness

Food Pyramid

You've seen it, you know it, and you may even use it. It's as recognizable as Chef Boyardee, the Keebler Elf, or Tony the Tiger. It's the food pyramid. Over the years, this eating "guideline" has adorned food packaging, has been displayed on posters, printed in books, and even taught in schools. Despite the original food pyramids elevation from "guide" to "globally-recognized icon," it is criticized for leading to improper and unhealthy eating habits and has therefore undergone a millennium "make-over".

Introduced in 1992 by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the pictures and categories on the food pyramid proved the perfect visual tool to express suggestions about food variety and proportionality. The original pyramid includes daily serving suggestions such as: 6-11 servings of carbohydrates (bread, pasta, rice and cereal), 2-3 servings of meat, and suggests that fats, oils and sweets to be used sparingly.

USDA's: "Old" Food Pyramid:

As knowledge of food and nutrition began to increase, however, so did the criticisms of the food pyramid. Dr. Walter Willett, U.S nutrition researcher, criticizes the pyramid in his book, Eat, Drink and Be Healthy: The Harvard Medical School Guide to Healthy Eating. He points out that, "The thing to keep in mind about the USDA Pyramid is that it comes from the Department of Agriculture, the agency responsible for promoting American agriculture, not from agencies established to monitor and protect our health…" Dr. Willett even goes so far as to state, "At best, the USDA Pyramid offers indecisive, scientifically unfounded advice…at worst, the misinformation it offers contributes to overweight, poor health, and unnecessary early deaths." While few others are so venomous in their critique, there are also few professionally trained nutritionists who continue to support the 1992 version of the Food Pyramid.

In light of this problem, experts at the Harvard School of Public Health collaborated to create their own food guidelines which they deemed "The Healthy Eating Pyramid." The Healthy Eating Pyramid includes a large emphasis on "daily exercise and weight control," even listing these instructions in the prominent base level of the pyramid. The steps above then specify the categories of food which should be consumed most often, including the most important types in each category. For example, the next widest step on the pyramid suggests carbohydrates which are specified as "whole grains", and plant oils which are specified as, "olive, canola, soy, corn, sunflower…" etc. This revised pyramid also includes a reminder to consume: "Multiple Vitamins for most" and insists that alcohol be used in "moderation".

Harvard School of Public Health

"The Healthy Eating Pyramid"

New Food Pyramid:

Meanwhile, the USDA did not allow nutritional updates to go unrequited. Beyond recognizing the more appropriate a type of foods within the different categories, the USDA has also taken into account that individual needs vary depending on factors such as age, race, gender and so on. These additional considerations lead the USDA to develop what is called, "My Pyramid" leads users through a process to create their very own personalized pyramid which will more closely meet their needs, taking into account both their body type and lifestyle. The My Pyramid site leads individuals through a detailed assessment of their eating and exercise habits and then provides users individualized eating plans and activity choices.

USDA's: "My Pyramid":

Eat 6 oz grains every day; 3 oz. of which are whole-grain cereals, breads, crackers, rice, or pasta.

Eat 2 ½ cups of vegetables every day. Eat more dark-green veggies like broccoli, spinach, and other dark leafy greens. Eat more orange vegetables like carrots and sweet potatoes. Eat more dry beans and peas like pinto beans, kidney beans, and lentils.

Eat 2 cups of a variety of fruits every day. Choose fresh, frozen, canned, or dried fruit. Go easy on fruit juices.

Get 3 cups of milk or milk products every day (2 cups for kids 2-8 years old). Go low-fat or fat-free when you choose milk, yogurt, and other milk products. If you don’t or can’t consume milk, choose lactose-free products or other calcium sources such as fortified foods and beverages.

Eat 5 ½ oz meat and beans every day. Choose low-fat or meats and poultry. Bake it, broil it or grill it. Vary your protein routine – choose more fish, beans, peas, nuts and seeds.

Remember, no matter which version of the Food Pyramid you prefer as a general nutritional guideline, and despite any future updates, one practice recommended by all of them that will always continue to serve your wellness efforts remains…regular exercise!

[Go Back]
Affordable Health Insurance - iCan